Second win in the Midland Track and Field League extends our lead at the top

19 Jul

The combined Bristol & West/Yate & District team won the home match at the third of four fixtures held at Yate Outdoor Sports Centre on Sunday 16th July 2017 to stay first in the top Division in the Midland Athletic League.

We had good coverage across all the events but surprisingly for a home match, we had more unfilled slots than at the first two matches.  Nonetheless, we won the men’s match by a small margin and the women’s match by a little more giving us two wins and a second place over the season.

Thanks to Yate for organising the event, all the officials who made it all run smoothly and getting us maximum points, and our debut recorder team.

We had some great performances as ever from two clubs as capable as Yate and Bristol & West, but what took us to victory was the effort put in to fill the team gaps in the first place and then as they emerged.

Reserves were pulled into the team, extra events were taken on, people competed in unfamiliar events, stadium volunteers competed (thanks Mark Lodge), Otis Mondir and Kurt Cameron competing two days in a row (after competing in the British Athletic League in Bedford on Saturday) and Daisy Gilbert and Will Davidson putting in over 7 hours of combined travelling to get to a ‘home’ match.  Thanks all – team sport at its best.

Two events that sum up the team spirit on the day were the women’s relays.

The number of female sprinters available for the 4×100 metres was dwindling during the day and our established sprinters of Tia Jackson and Jess Frazer were already multi-eventing to cover other gaps.  Emily John (High Jump) stepped up and after competing in the Discus and Shot Putt, Bobbie-Louise Gannon agreed to run while she was still competing in the Hammer.  Not only did the baton get round but this team of two sprinters, a high jumper and thrower were in the mix to get third.

It was clear from early on that we were going to need middle distance runners in the 4×400 metres.  While that is not so unusual, the 400 metre specialists usually outnumber the longer distance runners but not this time.  Before the race started this group had already raced just under 11k for the team.  Thank you to Maria Jones, our only recognised 400 metre runner for leading us off and to Emma Jolliffe, Helen Newberry and Clare Jolliffe for bringing us home imperiously in fourth pace.

This match was close enough that we would probably have been second and maybe drifted to third if we hadn’t had reserves available and athletes hadn’t agreed to multi-event.  It is that sort of response that gives you a chance of taking the league title and that is what we’ve got at Nottingham on 5th August 2017.  If you can make it please let your team manager know.

The results are now available on Power of 10 for all team and guest athletes.  Some club affiliations will take a few days to get right:

Personal and Season Best performances are listed below and apologies if we have missed anyone:

Women’s PBs: Jess Frazer (100 metres and 200 metres), Tia Jackson (200 metres outdoors with a legal wind), , Hannah Hobbs (800 metres), Helen Newberry (1,500 metres), Emily John (=High Jump PB), Georgia Crew (Triple Jump), Chloe Phelps (Javelin)

Women’s SBs: Maria Jones (400 metres), Helen Newberry (3,000 metres), Katherine Godfrey (100 metre Hurdles and 400 metre Hurdles),

Men’s PBs: Ben Wells (100 metres), Christian Pestell (100 metres and Long Jump), Tom Pallot (400 metres), Maciej Bialogonski (5,000 metres), Tom Skinner (110 m Hurdles), Jonny Shine (110 metre Hurdles), Will Davidson (2,000 metre steeplechase), Jack Joynson (Long Jump), Eugene Lawlor (Hammer)

Men’s SBs: Daniel Brooks (200 metres), Matt Muggeridge (200 metres, Triple Jump and Javelin), Ross Grainger (800 metres), Elliot Chard (1,500 metres), Anthony Glover (1,500 metres), Will Davidson (400 metre Hurdles), Ivan Usenko (2,000 metre steeplechase), David Thomas (High Jump), Tom Skinner (Pole Vault and Discus), Mark Lodge (Snot Putt)

Steve Grant, Pete Mountain and Matt Muggeridge