Aztec West Fast 5k 2016/17 – Race 2 – Tuesday 25th October 2016 – Results

26 Oct

The second race of the 2016/2017 series saw a battle for supremacy between Luke EVANS and Jarlath MCKENNA in misty conditions after a small group of 4 or 5 made an early break on the first lap. Luke eventually prevailed and his 15:13 was a PB for both the course and the distance by 2 seconds. Jarlath finished 2 seconds behind in 15:15 which was also a PB in Jarlath’s case by 3 seconds. The leading trio was completed by James Rodgers of North Somerset who ran 15:17.

Ben MITCHELL finished eleventh in 16:15  as he took 28 seconds off his 5k PB which had stood since 2012 when he was running the Swansea Bay 5k series. Peter BAINS was sixteenth in 16:51. Andy MALLOY, Daryl PHILLIPS and Ivan USENKO had a good scrap as they finished thirty-third, thirty-fourth and thirty-fifth in 17:31, 17:32 and 17:33 respectively. In Andy’s case it was his fastest 5k in 2 years and was just shy of his 17:23 PB. In Daryl’s case it was a 3 second PB; in Ivan’s case he was just 3 seconds shy of his PB.  Next home for the club was Greg CHANCE in thirty-eighth place in 17:41 sixteen seconds faster than his PB from 2015.

In forty-second place Fiona MARKS led in another trio of club athletes as she lowered her PB by 22 seconds from 18:09 to 17:47 on the night. She is now moving into territory her coach, Keith Brackstone, believes she is capable of and hopefully this time will give her the confidence to go chasing a sub-17:30 clocking in the New Year. Behind her Mark BURLEY ran 17:49 for forty-third as he dipped under 18 minutes in a road 5k for the first time and Leoin GROGAN ran 17:53 for forty-fourth.

Nathan HEMINGBROUGH and Paul JEFFERSON both clocked 17:59 to dip under 18 minutes: Paul’s was his fastest since his 17:46 PB in 2014.

At this stage of the race finishers were coming in thick and fast which probably helped contribute to the plethora of PBs and near PBs. Matthew REES ran 18:12 for fifty-fifth as he too finished 3 seconds shy of his PB. John O’DWYER clocked 18:25 in fifty-ninth place and Charlie PANTLIN (62nd in 18:35) and Dave BEDWELL (63rd in 18:36) had a good battle for their places.

Dan SCHOFIELD and Alex BANKS were even closer together with both clocking 19:09 in  seventy-fifth and seventy-sixth places. Sarah EVERITT finished eighty-second in 19:18 to finish second in the W45 category – her fastest 5k since 2014.

Other club finishers were:

85        Mary Gaston              19:27

89        Tray Allan                   19:44

93        Jonathan Goodland 19:52

102     Alice Doggrell            20:21

103     Daniel Morgan           20:22

105     Emma Jolliffe            20:36

128     Nicola Oldroyd           21:39

132     Vicky Catnach           22:00

133     Tom Burgess             22:04

137     Chris Lewis                22:11

Altogether there were 30 club finishers in the field of 178 and according to Chris Elson fifteen ran PBs. In the various categories there was a clear win in the Women’s Race for Hannah Hobbs of Westbury Harriers in a very good time for an under-17 Lady of 17:12 , Fiona MARKS was second in 17:47, as already mentioned, and finished first senior lady. In the Ladies age categories Emily Currie of Portishead was first F35 in 19:50 while  Jackie Rockliffe of Avon Valley Runners was first F45 in 18:01. Kate Sackett of Cirencester AC finished first F55 in 21:26.

In the male categories Aidan Noble of Westbury Harriers who is a regular at the series was first under-17 Man in seventeenth place overall. The Senior’s winner was race winner Luke EVANS, while Darren Jordan of Cheltenham Harriers took the M40 honours in 16:49. Richard Noble of Westbury Harriers was first M45 in 18:57, although M50 winner Jeremy Mower of Gloucester AC was considerably quicker clocking 17:44. Ken Ham of Westbury Harriers was first M55 in 18:32 with M60 winner Dave BEDWELL of Bristol & West just 4 seconds behind in 18:36. Finally race regular Arthur Daley of Gloucester Athletic Club was first M65 in 19:13.

Full results are listed below:

The third race in the series will be held at the usual venue with race start at 7:30 p.m. on Tuesday 29th November 2016.