Pomphrey Sports 5k – End to Another Good Winter Series

28 Feb

The final race of the 2012/2013 Pomphrey Sports 5k Winter Series was held at the usual venue on Tuesday 26th February 2013. After a disappointing turnout of 92 at the January Race the number of finishers reduced to 74 for the final race.

Visitor Harvey Speed from Coventry Godiva was a clear winner in 16.32. Behind him Bristol University Student Duncan Birtwistle – a member of Chris Elson’s training group – just edged out Matt Langdon of Bitton Road Runners. Duncan’s time of 17.17 just bettering Matt by two seconds. Andy Burles from City of Portsmouth took the M40 honours in fourth place in 17.29. Malcolm White of Westbury Harriers was first M55 in 18.02 and Dave Bedwell of Bristol & West took the M55 honours in 18.10. The evergreen Arthur Daley took the M60 honours in 20.04.

Anna Burton of Bristol University won the ladies race finishing sixteenth overall in 18.23. Anna has taken her times from 19.28 to 18.55 to 18.23 in three races this winter and must surely go under 18 minutes in the Summer Series. Michelle Kerfoot of Bitton Road Runners (a regular at the event) was second lady and took the L35 honours in 19.23. Sarah Everitt was third lady and first L45 in 19.45.

This was the final race of the winter series and Jacob Hayes who was an ever present running all 5 races was Series Winner with a combined time for his four fastest races of 71.09. Jacob was also first M40. A close runner-up was Robin Phillips of Westbury Harriers in 71.26 – just 17 seconds behind. Robin Lane of Bristol University was third in 71.58.

In the age groups Malcolm White (Westbury Harriers) took M45 honours, Richard Hughes (Westbury Harriers) the M50 title, Dave Bedwell (Bristol & West) the M55 category and Arthur Daley (Gloucester AC) the M60 category.

The ladies series winner was Michelle Kerfoot in a time of 77.13 (which also took the L35 title). Sarah Everitt was runner-up and first L45 in 79.45. Saving her best race to last Sarah was consistent throughout clocking 20.03, 19.55, 20.02 and 19.45.  Eithne Noonan of Westbury Harriers took the L55 title having been present at all five races.

Full results of both the fifth race and the series can be found by following the link to Results – Pomphrey Sports 5k.

We look forward to seeing you all back for the Summer Series which kicks off at 7.30 pm at the usual venue on Tuesday 30th April 2013.