Avon League Results – Sunday 8th July 2012

12 Jul

Sunday 8th July 2012 saw fewer club members competing in the third Avon league match than competed in the second match but those who did compete produced some outstanding performances – with our young talent once again well to the fore. Tia Jackson ran 10.9 as the fastest under-11 girl in the 75 metres and also finished first equal in the high jump with a clearance at 1 metre 20 centimetres. Charlotte Roberts (3rd in 11.5) and Imogen Sharman (5th in 11.9) were also well to the fore in the 75 metre races. Katie Jones ran a great tactical 600 metres to win the under-11s race in 1:55.5 and Molly Jones was fourth in the same race in 2:09.4. It was therefore no surprise that these four should combine to win the 4 x 100 metre relay comfortably – with the club’s ‘B’ team in second place. In the field in the under-11 girls the stand out performance was Natasha Wraith’s win in the ball throw with a throw of 35 metres 80 centimetres.

The sole club winner in the under-13 girl’s competitions was Millie Weeks who won the 75 metres hurdles in 13.2. Eloise Brown was runner up in the 1,500 metres in 5.15.2 and others to finish in runners-up positions were Isabella Parselle and Telilah Wears who both clocked 13.9 in the 100 metres and Hannah Dyer who clocked 28.4 in the 200 metres. The relay team finished second.

In the under-15 girls the club mustered only 4 competitors with Harriet Kieran our sole winner with 2 metres exactly in the pole vault.

There was a similar lack of involvement in the under-17 and senior ladies age groups but out of 5 competitors the club produced 3 winners with Isabele Hatch clearing 3 metres and one centimetre probably the stand-out result.

There was a good representation of under-11 boys where once again the relay team stood out – clear winners in 61.7. Oliver Hulbert matched the girls winning the ball throw with an impressive 44 metres 25 centimetres.

In the under-15 boys events Kurt Cameron won the 75 metres hurdles in 13.2, the discus with a throw of 19 metres and the pole vault with a clearance at 2 metres and 51 centimetres. Kory Lowe produced a double taking the shot putt with 10 metres and 4 centimetres as well as taking first equal in the 200 metres in 25 seconds dead.

In the under-17 age group Jack Dyer took the 100 metres in 11.2 and then finished runner-up in the 200 metres in 23.6. Luke Bailey recorded a win in the senior men’s pole vault clearing 4 metres exactly and Will Christofi ran a well judged race to take the 3,000 metres in 9.12.3. Last to get a mention is former Team Manager Simon Park who took the senior 100 metres in 12.0.

Full results are available at: