Home Midland League Victory Eludes Club by a Single Point

Chris Elson sends a big thank you to all the officials and helpers who made the Midland Track & Field Premiership match at Kip Keino Stadium on Sunday 1st July 2012 possible and a special thanks to those atheltes who turned out to support the club in its drive for Midland Premiership survival. He was unable to see too much of the competition (including missing Andrea Lock’s Pole Vault PB!) as he was either throwing his arms around team members as they arrived (if you had seen the extensive casualty list, you would have known why), congratulating people on their amazing performance or filling in declaration alteration slips (a lot). His efforts paid dividends as the team were only one point away from running out overall winners and what that result means is that the club now lies in third place with Birchfield unassailable on 18 points, Cheltenham on 11 points, Bristol & West 10, Gloucester, Notts and Wolverhampton 8. So it all turns on the last match on Saturday 4th August 2012 at Nottingham.

There were 11 individual event winners including for the men John Brierly in the 110 hurdles ‘A’ race in 17.4, Zak Tobias in the 1,500 metres ‘B’ in a PB of 4:06.9, Oli Mott in the ‘B’ 5,000 metres in 15:26.8 (after finishing second in the ‘A’ 1,500 metres in 4:05.3), Luke Bailey clearing 4 metres 20 centimetres to take the ‘A’ Pole Vault and Rhys Llewellyn-Eaton who cleared 3 metres 20 centimetres to take the ‘B’ Pole Vault and, finally, Ben Hale who took the ‘B’ string hammer with 36 metres 16 centimetres on his club debut.

There were five individual event winners in the Women’s Team with Olivia Sadler continuing her good form winning the 800 metres ‘B’ string in 2:16.4, Imogen Ainsworth won the ‘B’ 1,500 metres in 4:49.2, Jenny Jagger won the ‘B’ string 3,000 metres on her track debut with a very creditable 10:21.1. In the field the winners were Madison Thomas with a jump of 4 metres 95 centimetres to win the ‘A’ string long jump and Ruby Juan cleared 2 metres 20 centimetres to win the ‘B’ string Pole Vault.

As ever there were those athletes such as Andrea Lock and Nicola Breaks who scored good points across a number of events to keep the club in the hunt and we will need the support of everyone if we are to retain our premiership status in the fourth and final meeting at Nottingham on Saturday 4th August 2012.

Full results are available at http://www.bristolandwestac.org/downloads/track-and-field-competitions/midland-track-and-field-league/